Posts Tagged ‘Pretty Little Dead Things’

Review: Pretty Little Dead Things

March 6, 2011 - 3:48 pm 2 Comments

Pretty Little Dead Things Book CoverAuthor: Gary McMahon

Publisher: Angry Robot

Price: £7.99

Page count: 332pp (including an extra short story)

Reviewer: Theresa Derwin

An impressive horror detective noir, in the tradition of Mike Carey’s Felix Castor & Charlie Huston’s Joe Pitt novels, Pretty Little Dead Things is the shocking story of Thomas Usher – an usher for the dead.

Following the death of his wife and daughter in a car crash, Usher slowly recovers from his physical and emotional scars as he battles with his grief and the surfacing of a new talent.  Like a mature drunk and tortured Haley Joel Osment, Thomas Usher, psychic sleuth can see dead people.  Dealing with his emerging talent as well as his grief takes its toll and Usher tries to turn away from the dead but the dead are persistent. And he can only ignore them so much.

(more…)