Posts Tagged ‘Convention’

Andromeda One Parking & Programme

September 16, 2013 - 1:23 pm No Comments

Andromeda One logo

Hi All

It’s less than a week until our one day SFF/Horror con running til late at the Custard Factory Birmingham. And if you haven’t booked your ticket, don’t worry, you can book a ticket on the door on the day.

Take a look at the Programme, almost finalised, our wonderful guests and the parking details you may need.

How to Find Us Custard Factory & Parking

Andromeda One Draft Programme

Join us for a day of fun, frolics and er, fiction!

Don’t forget you get a goody bag with a free book on registration

Meet Guest Adam Nevill

September 13, 2013 - 9:32 pm 2 Comments

On 21st September 13 at the Custard Factory Birmingham, SFF/Horror convention Andromeda One takes place with Guests of Honour Paul Cornell, Jaine Fenn and Rog Peyton. Here I want to introduce you to Birmingham based guest and horror writer Adam Nevill.

About the Author

Adam Nevill

Adam Nevill was born in Birmingham, England, in 1969 and grew up in England and New Zealand. He is the author of the supernatural horror novels Banquet for the Damned, Apartment 16, The Ritual, Last Days, and House of Small Shadows. He lives in Birmingham and can be contacted through www.adamlgnevill.com

House of Small Shadows
Author: Adam Nevill
Publisher: Pan MacMillan
Page count: 370pp
Release Date: 10th Oct 2013
Reviewer: Theresa Derwin

Touted as Britain’s answer to Stephen King, Adam Nevill has a lot to live up to. And thankfully he does. The most recent book of Nevill’s that I read, Last Days, was an explosively scary intercontinental voyage to terror and has stayed with me ever since. So it was with excitement and trepidation that I picked up House of Small Shadows. That’s the thing about Nevill; his work resonates with the reader in such a way as to be a living, breathing presence. In this new novel, Nevill expertly researches a number of areas, Victorian houses, taxidermy and dolls/puppetry, to bring the realistic aspects into play into an insightful ghost story.
Catherine Howard has been hired to value a umber of items in the Red House. Her first impression of this building, which has its own personality in the novel, , is that it is ‘enraged at being disturbed.’ Nevill works within the well established tradition of making a house the largest character in his work. The house only has two occupants; Edith Mason, the niece of an infamous creative puppet maker and taxidermist and Maude the housekeeper; oh, and about a zillion creepy dolls! On her way to the Red House, Catherine passes through Ellyll Fields, her old hometown, which has desperately tried to forget, being an adopted child who was bullied continually. Catherine also has a dark past, as does the village, because her childhood friend Alice disappeared and she was not the only child to have possibly been abducted. As a child, Catherine believed she saw Alice after the disappearance, insighting anger from Alice’s parents. Years later after much therapy, she accepts the various children she saw as hallucinations.
There is a wonderful Dickensian quality to this novel and the wizened wheelchair-bound Edith is a veritable Miss Haversham. This book is rife with history and the relevance of history, focusing on aspects of WWI as well as the taxidermy, which plays an important plot point. Catherine is also an honest character, flawed in many ways and unable to cope with many of life’s hiccups, but with the Red House, she finds a new challenge to face up to. Reading a novel featuring a female protagonist by a male author, there are normally gaps in the presentation of the opposite sex, but here Nevill nails it. Catherine’s idiosyncrasies feel real and her reactions are accurate.
In this novel Nevill continues to explore a theme he has used in a number of his previous books – art; beauty, the relevance of art to our modern world and life mimicking art in very scary ways. Amidst the symbolism and imagery is the recurrent sounds and sights of an ice cream van, a symbol of childhood. But Cathetine’s childhood was not one of fond memories.
In summary, this novel is chilling horror full of subtle scares in the vein of Wilkie Collins or Shirley Jackson; there are no bumbling monsters escaping closets. When the monster appears, it is truly terrifying and viscerally real. Nevill’s imagination is warped – but in a good way! A truly amazing book. His best yet.

Andromeda One: Musical Interlude

September 9, 2013 - 9:21 pm No Comments

Hi, really excited to share with you that Rosaleen, Martin Sketchley’s wife and singer with Two Bob Ted are now laying live at Anromeda One. They are very much looking forward to playing at the Andromeda event on 21st September. To give you a bit of info about them, they are a 5 piece band, two vocals, one guitar, a double bass and cajon/snare drum with other bits and pieces of percussion. All their songs are originals and they’ve got about an hour’s worth of material at the moment that they’ll be playing through the lunch hour!

You can’t afford to miss this event.

Meet Guest Janet Edwards

September 9, 2013 - 8:59 pm No Comments

Janet Edwards is the author of The EARTH GIRL trilogy, science fiction for adult and young adult readers, set in a distant future where humanity portals between hundreds of colony worlds . . . except for the unfortunate few whose immune system can’t handle living anywhere else but Earth.
Jarra was sent to Earth at birth to save her life and abandoned by her parents. She can’t travel to other worlds, but she can watch their vids, and she knows all the jokes they make. She’s an “ape,” a “throwback,” but this is one ape girl who won’t give in.

Earth Star

Author: Janet Edwards
Publisher: Harper Voyager
Page count: 400pp
Release Date: 15th Aug 2013
Reviewer: Theresa Derwin


Jarra is subject to continual discrimination despite being awarded the Artemis medal for her heroic actions in the first novel. The majority of norms have left earth to live on other colonized planets expanding into the universe. Edwards captures the essence of 18-year olds even creating her own future teen lingo/jargon, which resonates. The new academic term starts and Jarra’s team are at Eden to begin an archaeological dig. Unable to leave the planet due to her immunity deficiency Jarra accepts that she can never enter the military. At least she does until she and her ‘twoing’ partner Fian are conscripted in an emergency to the military to help with what may be evidence of first contact.
They are working for the Alien Contact Programme, which has been activated. Of course the worry sets in straight away, because Jarra will die if she goes offworld.
Edwards’ SF elements are strong and speak of her knowledge of the genre, with portals between sectors and planets for transport, hover bags and food dispensers, which are common place and feel real. This novel is bursting with energy and it is refreshing to see a number of powerful, strong female characters particularly in the military. And Jarra is a great female representative too; although being an ‘ape’ she is the daughter of heroes and a Military Honour Child. A thoroughly enjoyable YA book that will appeal to adults too.

Meet Guest Gaie Sebold!

August 20, 2013 - 12:16 pm No Comments

gaie 4. L.Barnes (2)

I am delighted again to announce another of our guests, Gaie Sebold.

Gaie Sebold was born in the US but has spent most of her life in the UK. She lives in leafy suburbia with her partner, writer David Gullen, a lot of plants and books and a daft cat.
Since the age of 5 she has written a large number of words, many of them different. Her debut novel introduced brothel-owning ex-avatar of sex and war, Babylon Steel (Solaris, 2012); the sequel, Dangerous Gifts, came out in February 2013. She is now working on a steampunk fantasy: Shanghai Sparrow, due in 2014.
She has published a number of short stories, three of which have received honourable mentions in Year’s Best Fantasy and Horror. She has also won awards for poetry (her first collection, Urban Fox, is published by Tall Lighthouse).
She has worked as a cleaner, secretary, till-monkey, stage-tour-manager, editor, and charity administrator; she now writes and runs writing workshops. She reads obsessively, gardens amateurishly, and sometimes hits people with latex weapons.
Snippets from Babylon’s world can be found here, (including Babylon’s problem page, notes from Chief Bitternut’s casebook and extracts from the local newspaper): http://scalentine.gaiesebold.com/.
Gaie also blogs with David Gullen (in the guise of Lord and Lady Plott) on writing and gardening at http://weedingandwriting.com
And her own website is at http://gaiesebold.com

Babylon Steel
Author: Gaie Sebold
Publisher: Solaris Books
Page count: 431pp
Release date: 5th Jan 2012
Reviewer: Theresa Derwin
Babylon Steel has a secret past; one which she hides from her crew at the Red Lantern brothel in Scalentine. Her crew includes twins Cruel and Unusual, who enjoy giving and receiving pain to/from their clients and Flower, a giant ogre-like creature who works in the kitchens and is the best cook in Scalentine.

Whilst the local religious contingent ‘The Vessels’ are hanging around the Red Lantern chasing Babylon’s clients away, Babylon is called to a meeting by the devastatingly handsome Darask Fain. Fain is willing to pay Babylon a rather nice sum of money to find a missing girl. Unfortunately, Babylon has a soft spot for girls in danger, probably because of her hidden past that is slowly revealed throughout the novel.

Scalentine and the world Sebold creates is what make this novel so entertaining. A myriad of creatures and races populate Scalentine; furred creatures, scaled creatures, blue creatures and fey. Sebold has created a believable local dialect for her inhabitants, which adds a sense of realism to an otherwise fantastical novel. The characters are vibrant and realistic, the streets of Scalentine likewise and the overall atmosphere of this novel is one of adventure and fun. The novel ended far too soon and I definitely want to spend more time in the company of Babylon and her ‘crew’. Great stuff!