Posts Tagged ‘Adam Nevill’

Some Will Not Sleep by Adam Nevill

October 31, 2016 - 7:19 pm 1 Comment

Some Will Not Sleep by Adam Nevill

Published by Ritual Limited on 31st October 2016

250 pages

Reviewed by Yvonne Davies

41afr6wgenl

Some Will Not Sleep contains 11 short stories, 11 stories that takes you different times and places. 11 stories that will give you your fix of the macabre.

I have wanted to read this book since I attended Adam’s book launch at FantasyCon and I was not disappointed.  This book is well written and each story leaves you wanting more, making it a quick and exciting read. I enjoyed this book so much but for reviewing purposes I will write about the few that stood out for me

Where Angels Come In: A story about a young lad’s adventure to a derelict building and the consequences when he got there. Like most derelict buildings there is always a story accompanies them adding to the suspense and this building was no different. Written in the POV of the child, this just added to the suspense of the story. I enjoyed the added touch of the creepy statues and throughout the story the evil was implied but was never fully revealed. With the strange grandma, trying to get the story out of the boy made this an eerie read.

Yellow Teeth: What would you do if you met someone from way back and he ended up moving in with you. This is what happened to the narrator of this story when Ewan an old acquaintance from University, moves in and slowly takes over his flat with his beliefs and his unhygienic ways. Whilst I was reading this story I could imagine the smell of the flat, could hear the ramblings of Ewan who was probably the most disgusting houseguest I have ever read about.

Doll Hands: A story about a change creature that had a large head and tiny dolls hand, working at the Gruut Huis an elite apartment for the rich, where fine dining were the humans. I enjoyed this story because all the characters were unnatural and freakish and the protagonist became the unlikely hero.

What every story you read first you can guarantee a story that will make your skin crawl, a story that will play on your fears and as the title implies when you read this some will not sleep. A brilliant read

 

Lost Girl

December 1, 2015 - 6:15 pm 1 Comment

Author: Adam Nevill
Publisher: Pan Macmillan
Page Count: 448pp
Release date:22nd Oct 2015
Reviewer: Theresa Derwin

Two years ago, a daughter was abducted, and the memory haunts the father every day. Blending thriller and climate change debate, Nevill creates a background of deep unrest where the banks and government have moved from London to Birmingham after the Thames has flooded one too many times. Every inch of available green space has been given over to crops, as meat and fish vanish from the stores. The protagonist has moved his family to Torquay where the population have been vegetarian for a decade through necessity. This is a truly grim setting. The mixture of ecological decline, and one man’s search for answers on a self-destructive path for revenge makes for a tense backdrop to the action. Disturbing, thoroughly researched and yes, depressing, this depiction of impending desolation is very believable, adding to the reader’s horror. Though I’m not sure I would class this as horror nove ; more ecological thriller, Though there is horror within it,if that makes sense. The horror comes in the development of the ‘Father’ which is frighteningly believable. Plus there is plenty of gore for those who like a little blood and meat in their books.
Having read the majority of Nevill’s work, I found this notably different from his traditional horror novels, Last Days, The Ritual and Apartment 16, yet the authorial voice is still recognisably that of Adam Nevill; strong, eloquent, lyrical and frightening in his ability to present characters of strength. This is truly a superb book, that blends genres and grips the reader to the very end. Nevill has done it again.

Meet Guest Adam Nevill

September 13, 2013 - 9:32 pm 2 Comments

On 21st September 13 at the Custard Factory Birmingham, SFF/Horror convention Andromeda One takes place with Guests of Honour Paul Cornell, Jaine Fenn and Rog Peyton. Here I want to introduce you to Birmingham based guest and horror writer Adam Nevill.

About the Author

Adam Nevill

Adam Nevill was born in Birmingham, England, in 1969 and grew up in England and New Zealand. He is the author of the supernatural horror novels Banquet for the Damned, Apartment 16, The Ritual, Last Days, and House of Small Shadows. He lives in Birmingham and can be contacted through www.adamlgnevill.com

House of Small Shadows
Author: Adam Nevill
Publisher: Pan MacMillan
Page count: 370pp
Release Date: 10th Oct 2013
Reviewer: Theresa Derwin

Touted as Britain’s answer to Stephen King, Adam Nevill has a lot to live up to. And thankfully he does. The most recent book of Nevill’s that I read, Last Days, was an explosively scary intercontinental voyage to terror and has stayed with me ever since. So it was with excitement and trepidation that I picked up House of Small Shadows. That’s the thing about Nevill; his work resonates with the reader in such a way as to be a living, breathing presence. In this new novel, Nevill expertly researches a number of areas, Victorian houses, taxidermy and dolls/puppetry, to bring the realistic aspects into play into an insightful ghost story.
Catherine Howard has been hired to value a umber of items in the Red House. Her first impression of this building, which has its own personality in the novel, , is that it is ‘enraged at being disturbed.’ Nevill works within the well established tradition of making a house the largest character in his work. The house only has two occupants; Edith Mason, the niece of an infamous creative puppet maker and taxidermist and Maude the housekeeper; oh, and about a zillion creepy dolls! On her way to the Red House, Catherine passes through Ellyll Fields, her old hometown, which has desperately tried to forget, being an adopted child who was bullied continually. Catherine also has a dark past, as does the village, because her childhood friend Alice disappeared and she was not the only child to have possibly been abducted. As a child, Catherine believed she saw Alice after the disappearance, insighting anger from Alice’s parents. Years later after much therapy, she accepts the various children she saw as hallucinations.
There is a wonderful Dickensian quality to this novel and the wizened wheelchair-bound Edith is a veritable Miss Haversham. This book is rife with history and the relevance of history, focusing on aspects of WWI as well as the taxidermy, which plays an important plot point. Catherine is also an honest character, flawed in many ways and unable to cope with many of life’s hiccups, but with the Red House, she finds a new challenge to face up to. Reading a novel featuring a female protagonist by a male author, there are normally gaps in the presentation of the opposite sex, but here Nevill nails it. Catherine’s idiosyncrasies feel real and her reactions are accurate.
In this novel Nevill continues to explore a theme he has used in a number of his previous books – art; beauty, the relevance of art to our modern world and life mimicking art in very scary ways. Amidst the symbolism and imagery is the recurrent sounds and sights of an ice cream van, a symbol of childhood. But Cathetine’s childhood was not one of fond memories.
In summary, this novel is chilling horror full of subtle scares in the vein of Wilkie Collins or Shirley Jackson; there are no bumbling monsters escaping closets. When the monster appears, it is truly terrifying and viscerally real. Nevill’s imagination is warped – but in a good way! A truly amazing book. His best yet.