Archive for March, 2011

Review: Autumn by David Moody

March 28, 2011 - 9:33 pm 5 Comments

Front cover of Autumn by David Moony
Title: Autumn

Author: David Moody

Publisher:  Orion Books

Price:  £12.99 (Hardback)

Page count:  246pp

Reviewer:  Theresa Derwin

Like the dead themselves, I did little last weekend. I shambled; read; shambled; ate; shambled; growled – and devoured my copy of Autumn. For just a short space of two days, the world that is Autumn ruled mine, the addiction that is David Moody flowing through my veins.

(more…)

Genre for Japan

March 26, 2011 - 3:10 pm No Comments

Genre for Japan

 

Dear All

If you are here, then you are probably a genre fan.  Please take time to check out the Genre for Japan website. There are some great items to bid for.

A unique opportunity to become a permanent part of the AUTUMN series

(more…)

Out of the clink!

March 15, 2011 - 10:00 pm No Comments

Hi All

In case you wondered where I’ve been, I have been in hotel NHS partaking of their hospitality for a wee while followed by Costa Del Sofa. It’s been a bit of a tough week, but some exciting news to share! I met – The Doctor. I’m telling you. The sticky up hair, the jittery manner, the childlike ways, the dodgy outfit & the skinny boddy. The Consultant I met could’ve been no more than ten years old and was a dead ringer for Dr – well, you know Who.

(more…)

Robert Rankin Competition!

March 7, 2011 - 3:20 pm No Comments

Bumper Book of Ficts Book Cover

Hi, how would you like to win a lovely Robert Rankin rare signed edition for free?

You could read it, flog it on e-bay or take it to bed every night! The choice is yours.

To enter, all you have to do is comment on the site, on FB, Twitter, My Space or any other network & share on your forum & mine. In exchange for widening my circle in the month of March you will be entered into free prize draw!

Give it a go.

Review: Pretty Little Dead Things

March 6, 2011 - 3:48 pm 2 Comments

Pretty Little Dead Things Book CoverAuthor: Gary McMahon

Publisher: Angry Robot

Price: £7.99

Page count: 332pp (including an extra short story)

Reviewer: Theresa Derwin

An impressive horror detective noir, in the tradition of Mike Carey’s Felix Castor & Charlie Huston’s Joe Pitt novels, Pretty Little Dead Things is the shocking story of Thomas Usher – an usher for the dead.

Following the death of his wife and daughter in a car crash, Usher slowly recovers from his physical and emotional scars as he battles with his grief and the surfacing of a new talent.  Like a mature drunk and tortured Haley Joel Osment, Thomas Usher, psychic sleuth can see dead people.  Dealing with his emerging talent as well as his grief takes its toll and Usher tries to turn away from the dead but the dead are persistent. And he can only ignore them so much.

(more…)